one year in

New Year’s was the first anniversary for this blog.  Hard to believe!  Thanks to all of you who have been here from the beginning, and those who are new.  I appreciate each one of you SO very much!

It’s been a year of discovery and learning and growing for me in this whole blogging process, and I still don’t quite have it all figured out – and that’s fine.  I’m glad you’re along for the ride!

When I started this blog…

  • I was hoping I could be funny and insightful and impart words of love and hope.  In other words, I wished I could be Glennon Melton.  But I’m just NOT.  No one is Glennon but Glennon – and thank God almighty for her!
  • I wanted to share the many parts of my life that are broken, the parts I struggle with, the parts I’m trying to work out.  I share a lot about those struggles, not as some online diary (because Lord knows that would be scary – NO ONE reads my diary – even I cringe at it!), but as a way to say, “I’m not perfect, I struggle, and that’s ok,” so hopefully YOU know it’s ok to struggle and not be perfect too.  In other words, “I’m not ok, and you’re not ok – and THAT’S ok.”  Sometimes we need permission to just be ourselves, mess and all.  Then we can go about our messy lives thinking, “Wow.  That’s a relief.”
  • I wanted to share more with the online community I found on twitter – the communities that have grown to mean so much to me:  the autism community, the faith community, the parent community, the mental health community etc… With three kids, including one with autism, my world sometimes feels SO small.  I LONG to connect with others going through the same kind of experiences, but felt like 140 characters just wasn’t enough.  It’s nice to know I’m not alone, and that I’m not quite as weird as I sometimes think I am!

A year in I’ve learned…

  • Writing for public consumption helps me learn more about myself than journaling does.  When I write about an event or feeling in order to help YOU understand it, I force myself to clarify things for ME as well.  So this space doesn’t simply become a dumping ground for my bitchiness I also try to find larger themes in my experiences, and that has been good in stretching me from just complaining about something to finding a lesson in it.  It’s been quite therapeutic.
  • While I don’t have a target audience the way many blogs do, because I don’t just stay to ONE topic, I learned I need to balance out my posts.  It’s become a good discipline, also to keep me from simply bitching.  If I haven’t written an autism post in a while, I know it’s time.  I also try to give each of my kids equal time, (although I’m sure autism gets a little more).  If I haven’t written about my son lately, then I know I need to pay closer attention to him and think of some wonderful or perplexing part of him to share.
  • I’m also constantly in the process of balancing sharing about my teenager and my own privacy.  The blog is somewhat anonymous, but she knows where it is and is free to read anything here, she even recommended it to one of her best friends who now follows (shout out to Isabella!).  SO… I feel the eyes of her on me as I write, which has done two things: censored certain things I might share that I don’t want her to know AND work so that my posts about her are respectful and not just a parent complaining about their teenager (again the blog keeping me from just bitching).
  • Most people reserve comments for twitter, which is fine.  At first I thought the lack of comments reflected a lack of interest, but folks DO read, and I DO get comments and “favorites” on twitter, and that’s great.  I appreciate any feedback, even if it’s just a “star” or 140 characters or less!

So I thank you for helping me grow and learn more about myself, and for sharing yourselves with me as well.  Thank you for traveling this journey with me so far, and I look forward to seeing what lessons and growth and strength we can find together in the year to come.

Lisa

Tagged:

4 thoughts on “one year in

  1. TakingItAStepAtATime January 26, 2015 at 12:20 pm Reply

    Wow! Happy Anniversary!

  2. Suzanna Catherine January 27, 2015 at 10:33 am Reply

    So glad I found your blog last summer! As soon as I figure out my latest device, I plan to become a Twitter follower, too. Thanks for sharing your life. Love your Sermons, too.❤️

Leave a Reply

